Saying “NO”to you.

This is a piece I wrote some years ago and I can’t help but smile at my seeming innocence when it was written. Do I still have this struggle now? Well, Yes, sometimes but not as intense. #Life. Enjoy.

“Dear LORD,

How are you today? I know you are always fine. I am here once again to report someone to you. It’s easy for me to say ‘No’ to everyone else except him.

Once he decides to go after something, it is difficult to dissuade him. He is so strong willed and it is always a tug of war trying to persuade him to jettison his thoughts.

Sometimes, he knows what he is going after is absolutely wrong, but he says sometimes that those things feel so good. He starts to come up with flimsy reasons why he should continue in the act, saying “it is just an adventure” and sometimes he says “Life is fun”.

I am getting tired of struggling with him, every now and then, so Dear LORD, I put him in your hands. I’m sure you know him already LORD. ”

…and the LORD replies…

“Dear son, Oh YES! I know him absolutely well. He is YOU.

It’s easy for you to say ‘No’ to everyone else except YOU. Right? Once YOU decide to go after something, it is difficult to dissuade YOU.

You are so strong willed and it is always a tug of war trying to persuade YOU to jettison your thoughts.

Sometimes, YOU know what you are going after is absolutely wrong, but sometimes those things feel so good.

YOU come up with flimsy reasons why YOU should continue in the act, saying “it is just an adventure” and sometimes YOU say “Life is fun”. You are tired of struggling with YOU every now and then.

Dear SON, I am always here, but it is your duty to learn how YOU will be tamed. YOU have desires that need to be controlled and properly channeled.

Saying ‘NO’ to every other person isn’t so difficult like you said, but the greatest challenge you may face in life, is saying “NO” to YOU.

What do you think? (Leave a Reply...)

